Week #11: Landslide

Let’s go, next song! Week #11’s song was going to be “Landslide” by duo Oh Wonder. This song was found off of their self-titled debut album, Oh Wonder. I would highly recommend listening to their full album because it is so simple yet amazingly produced. In addition, the chemistry between singers Josie and Anthony is absolutely stunning. I found out about Oh Wonder from listening to one of my previously mentioned artists, Troye Sivan. His song “SUBURBIA” has a lyric that goes “Oh Wonder on repeat” which alludes to these artists. Anyway, “Landslide” is about getting through a rough time and having someone there to help you through the hardships. The singers constantly repeat the phrase “You’ll get over it” throughout the course of the song. This offers words of encouragement to listeners whether they are or aren’t in pain. In the chorus, the duo sings, “So when you’re caught in a landslide, I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you. And in the rain give you sunshine. I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you. And every time that you’re lonely, every time that you’re feeling low you should know I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you. I’ll be there for you, you know.” Landslides and the rain represent disaster and sadness while the sunshine represents happiness and perseverance. The sunshine combined with the rain creates rainbows, a sign of love and joy. These lyrics are saying that even if you are lonely and down, people will still care for you. This is one of my favorite songs from the album and has become one of my favorite songs overall. I really hope you like “Landslide” and decide to listen to the rest of Oh Wonder’s album. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

