Week #15: Never Be Like You

Warning: This song is explicit.

Welcome to Week #15 of blogging blog (Which is only a day late this time!). This weeks song is “Never Be Like You” by Flume featuring the singer, Kai. This song is about a relationship that is falling apart with the person at fault being Kai. At the start of the song, she sings about her last love saying, “What I would do to take away this fear of being loved, allegiance to the pain.” This line explains to listeners that she is scarred from her last relationship due to unknown reasons. Whatever was the cause for the end of the relationship left Kai afraid to love again. Even with this is mind, she still loves this man, and longs to have him back. She takes the blame for the break up, but still wants to be forgiven. In the chorus, Kai sings, “I’m only human, can’t you see? I made, I made a mistake. Please just look me in my face, tell me everything’s okay. ‘Cause I got you, he’ll never be like you.” In these lyrics, Kai asks for her blame to be lifted stating that she is human and that all humans have faults. She wants to be loved again, and the man she is currently with doesn’t satisfy her. By the bridge, Kai is full on begging to be taken back saying, “I’m falling on my knees, forgive me, I’m a f***ing fool. I’m begging, darling, please, absolve me of my sins, won’t you?” At this point in the song, she is practically desperate to have her mistakes lifted. She is referencing religion, specifically Catholicism. As in the church, people will confess to their sins to become pure. This connection is drawn to Kai because she is trying to revive and renew her relationship with her boyfriend. That really closes the blog for this song, “Never Be Like You”. Hope you enjoy this song!

Leave a Reply

